Washington, D.C.– Kansas U.S. Senators Jerry Moran and Roger Marshall, M.D. joined Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) and 16 of their Senate colleagues in introducing a Senate resolution calling for Vladimir Putin and members of his regime to be held accountable for the numerous acts of war, aggression and human rights abuses that have been conducted under his command.


“The appalling attacks on civilians in Ukraine are the latest in a long line of Vladimir Putin’s unjustifiable orders,” said Sen. Moran. “From indiscriminate bombings in Chechnya and Syria to targeted assassinations in London and Berlin, Vladimir Putin and those who obey his commands are not just thugs, they are war criminals. The United States and international community should hold them accountable.”


“Russia’s unprovoked invasion of Ukraine has caused widespread destruction and substantial loss of life,” said Sen. Marshall. “The United States must stand with the people of Ukraine and hold Vladimir Putin accountable for his war crimes against innocent civilians.”


The Senate resolution:


The resolution is also cosponsored by Senators Chris Coons (D-Del.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Angus King (I-Maine), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).


Full text of the resolution can be found HERE.