WASHINGTON – Today the U.S. Senate passed U.S. Senators Jerry Moran (Kan.) and Roger Marshall’s, M.D. (Kan.) resolution recognizing the University of Kansas men’s basketball team for winning the 2022 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I National Championship — the team’s fourth NCAA title. The Jayhawks defeated the North Carolina Tar Heels 72-69 to secure the title.


“Congratulations to Coach Bill Self and the entire team on winning this year’s NCAA men’s basketball championship and the school’s fourth NCAA title and sixth overall,” said Sen. Moran. “Watching the biggest comeback in the history of the championship game was nerve-racking, and it was an incredible feat of teamwork, heart and perseverance. Coach Self and his team have secured a special place within Kansas’ rich basketball legacy with this well-earned win and a season in which Kansas won the Big 12 conference and became the NCAA’s all-time winningest program.”


“Every little boy and girl across the state of Kansas is out in the front driveway today practicing free throws. This KU team is an inspiration to all of us, setting an example of what hard work, team work and a never give up attitude can accomplish,” said Sen. Marshall. “We all will remember this KU basketball team for their ability to share the ball, or as Coach Self says, ‘to not let the ball stick.’ Every game during this tournament seemed to have a different hero, but in this historic championship game every player was a hero and everyone’s contribution was necessary to win. This Jayhawk team made us all proud to be Kansans and delivered the greatest final game comeback ever.”


The full text of the resolution can be found here.



Click HERE to Watch Sen. Moran’s Full Remarks



Click HERE to Watch Sen. Marshall’s Full Remarks